Lead Management For Law Firms – Client Intake, Call Intake & Conversion Tracking Software

What Can Lead Management Software For Law Firms Do?

  1. Our personal injury law firm is growing rapidly.
  2. We can no longer handle personal injury client intake ourselves.
  3. Increasing advertising effectiveness and efficiency allows more advertising dollars to be spent on additional advertising.
  4. Advertising costs are high, so lost leads are costly.
  5. Every lost lead could be a personal injury case with a value from $1,000 to $1,000,000 or more.

Lead management is vital for selling a product on TV for $19.95, but lead management for personal injury lawyers is even more important because the least valuable cases are worth $1,000 in legal fees, and even if only one lead is lost, it could have been a case worth $1,000,000 or more in legal fees.

Example of What Lead Management Software For Law Firms Can Do For Your ROI

Assume the following without lead management software used by a personal injury law firm:

  1. Monthly advertising budget of only $10,000 spent on Google Ads
  2. Cost per click of $170, yielding 58.82 clicks
  3. Conversion rate of 40% = 23.52 conversions (people contacting you)
  4. 15% of conversions result in a retained case
  5. Total cases monthly = 3.528 cases retained at a cost of $2,834 per case
  6. Total cases annually = 42.33
  7. Average case gross value = $45,000
  8. Average 1/3 legal fee per case = $15,000
  9. Total annual advertising budget = $120,000
  10. Total annual legal fees = $635,040
  11. Total gross profit before overhead = $515,040

Assuming only a 5% improvement by using lead management and lead tracking software, this is the amount of increase in ROI:

  1. Monthly advertising budget of only $10,000 spent on Google Ads
  2. Cost per click of $170, yielding 58.82 clicks
  3. Conversion rate of 40% = 23.52 conversions (people contacting you)
  4. 20% of conversions result in a retained case
  5. Total cases monthly = 4.704 cases retained at a cost of $2,125 per case
  6. Total cases annually = 56.44
  7. Average case gross value = $45,000
  8. Average 1/3 legal fee per case = $15,000
  9. Total annual advertising budget = $120,000
  10. Total annual legal fees = $846,720
  11. Total gross profit before overhead = $726,720 = additional $211,680 profit and 41.099% increase in ROI

How Lawyers Can Leverage The Profit Gained From Lead Management Software

Re-invest the additional profit gained by using lead management and lead tracking software in more advertising.

If the additional $211,680 profit is re-invested in more advertising, that would return additional annual legal fees of $1,494,211 for an additional profit of $1,282,531. Thus,  the total annual profit would be $2,009,251 = 290.116% increase in ROI just by using lead management and lead tracking software for lawyers. And that’s if your lead management software only resulted in a 5% improvement!

How Our Personal Injury Law Firm Increased Caseload and Decreased Workload

We formed a partnership with a large personal injury law firm that does the work on the cases. They pay the case expenses and all overhead. We get the cases.

Our focus is now on getting as many new clients as inexpensively and efficiently as possible. We changed from a personal injury law firm to a personal injury marketing firm that focuses on client intake.

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We continually perfect our advertising, call intake management, lead management, lead tracking, and personal injury client intake. Lead management software is a big step forward for us to improve as we grow our law firm.

Where Do Our Personal Injury Clients Come From?

Approximately 48% of our personal injury client intake previously came from our website, 48% from niche marketing for motorcycle accidents, and 4% from referrals.

These percentages have changed because we are now advertising with Google Ads. Since marketing takes a lot of time and advertising just takes money, we stopped marketing efforts and have been increasing our Google Ads budget.

What Is The Difference Between Google Ads vs. Our Website and Other Marketing?

There is a big difference between leads from our website and marketing efforts versus Google Ads.

Potential clients who call from our marketing efforts, website, or referrals have already decided on two things:

  1. They know they want to hire a personal injury lawyer: and
  2. They already decided that they want us.

Leads from referrals or marketing efforts

Potential clients who call from referrals call because they trust someone who knows us. Referrals will always hire us immediately without looking at other lawyers, even if they leave us a message and we call back a few hours later.

Potential clients who call from our marketing efforts want to hire us because they were exposed to our marketing that appealed to their niche, and they may have already met us.

Leads from Our Website

Potential clients who call from our website are also pre-sold to some extent. They call after deciding they like our website, the 1-800-HURT-911® brand, and they want us to represent them. These leads are usually retained immediately by email within minutes.

The biggest problem with website leads is that most are looking for information that has nothing to do with a personal injury case, or they do not have a viable case because it was already settled or past the statute of limitations, or they’re in another state.

Leads from Google Ads

Google Ads produces many more leads, almost as many as you want to pay for.

Google Ads produces:

  1. Potential clients searching on Google to hire a lawyer now.
  2. People who haven’t been exposed to any reason why they should click on our Google Ad among the other ads presented. This is why branding in the title of Google Ads is so important.
  3. Potential clients who only see a tiny snippet of an advertisement and since they haven’t seen our website and don’t know anything about us, they aren’t yet convinced they want to hire us. That’s why branding on our landing page is also important.

Lead management for lawyers lets you track every aspect of your case intake as can be seen with this Google Ad comparison with a vanity phone number

The Need for Managing Leads and Continually Re-Contacting Leads

Calls from Google Ads (and other advertising) present the need to use lead management software for lawyers to manage the time-consuming process of ensuring that potential clients are continuously called, emailed, and sent text messages until they are retained or tell us not to call again.

A study by Velocify (lead management software for mortgage sales) of almost 3.5 million leads found the following statistics:

  1. Calling a potential client within a minute of lead generation can increase your likelihood of conversion by 391%. Each minute reduces the probability drastically. Calling 30 minutes later reduces the chance to 62%.
  2. More than 50% of all leads are converted after the first attempt, but 50% of all leads are never called back after the first attempt.
  3. 6 calls are the number of times a lead should be called if not retained. 93% of converted leads are contacted by the 6th call attempt.
  4. Until a potential client is reached, combine sending emails with calls to the lead.  The optimal number of emails to send was 5. I also recommend sending an SMS text message at the same time, which is more effective than email. Just as using different media types increases conversion by building up trust and credibility, so does combining calls, email, and text messages when trying to reach a potential client.

What Is Lead Management Software?

Lead management software is an advancement of CRM (Contact Relationship Management) software. It does lead management, call intake management, and conversion management which makes this job less time-consuming and easier and will prevent us from forgetting to call potential leads.

SaaS (cloud) lead management software for personal injury lawyers automatically sends and receives template emails and SMS text messages until a client is retained, declined, or unsubscribed.

Call Intake Staff Training

OPUS Intake Training

Call Intake Scripting Software For Law Firms

Call scripting software for call center operators helps operators to enter information about potential clients who call you. These scripts are simple and just ask a few questions to get contact information.

But when you license 1-800-HURT-911®, you will get a custom-programmed call center script free of charge. Our script has program language using AI with conditional logic that does far more than call center scripts.

Our custom personal injury call center software will: 1) perform a diagnosis and predict several types of injuries before the caller is even aware of the injury, 2) evaluate accidents, and 3) prep potential clients to give the correct information you need to prove the case.

These companies provide call scripting software that can be used by call center operators.

Lead Management Software For Law Firms

  • Bitrix24 Legal – they actually have a free plan
  • Captorra
  • Introhive
  • Law Ruler
  • Lawmatics
  • Lead Docket – Sophisticated automation, easy to use, and easy to look at. Integrates to input data automatically from many lead source applications and output data to Filvine, SmartAdvocate, Needles, and possibly others.
  • LegallyCRM – starting at $39/month (located in Poland)
  • Lexicata
  • LexisNexis InterAction
  • Loop – Loop will do every aspect of lead tracking for lawyers you could need.  Loop will customize the software for each law firm’s procedures. Integrates to input data automatically from many lead source applications and output data to any other application. Kerri White is extremely knowledgeable about law firm marketing and procedures. After several demos, we decided to use Loop.
  • OnePlace
    • HubSpot CRM – FREE forever (no catch) for up to 2,500 users and 1 million contacts (not specifically designed for law firms)
    • Send and receive SMS texts and MMS picture messages from HubSpot CRM and Workflows in real-time from local phone numbers for $30/month – this definitely needs to be added to HubSpot CRM to increase conversion and ROI
  • SalesForce.com starts at $25 /user/month. I was told that the Sales Cloud is the product I would want to answer calls from advertising and retaining clients and that they have templates to set it up to do lead tracking for lawyers. Integrates with SmartAdvocate.

This article by Inbound Law Marketing reviews 13 CRMs for law firms

This video shows how Captorra automates client intake for law firms

Client Intake, Conversion & Retainer Services for Law Firms

Why use a specialized call center for client intake to answer your phones?

The vast majority of personal injury law firms are horrible at answering the phones and retaining clients. I know because I started and managed a group TV advertising campaign with a large advertising budget with 22 law firms.

The lawyers who did well listened carefully to me and followed my instructions. Lawyers who complained did not follow my instructions. When I made test calls, I found they were not answering their phones quickly, putting callers on hold too long, scheduling clients to come in on another day to meet with the lawyer, and other problems.

When I answered the phone for my personal injury law practice, I always answered on the first ring, even in the shower. Then my partner was answering the phone for a couple of years. He’s almost as good as I am, but not quite. Now, we’re continually increasing our advertising budget, and we just can’t answer the phones anymore.

Fully Automated Client Intake and Retaining For Law Firms

For lawyers who want to fully automate the client intake process, there are also call centers that will handle the entire call intake conversion process for mass tort and general personal injury lawyers. These call centers will not only answer the calls but also retain the clients and provide lawyers with a signed retainer.

These call centers typically charge a fee per signed retainer. The call centers we are aware of that will obtain a signed retainer for your law firm are listed below.

List of Call Centers For Lawyers With Client Intake and Client Retaining Services

  • Alert Communications – Call, Intake, and Retainer Services for Law Firms
  • Consumer Attorney Contract Services
  • Intake Conversion Experts – ICE answers the calls from mass tort and personal injury advertising and can also retain your clients according to your intake criteria. ICE is for lawyers expecting to retain at least 25 case intakes per week. When they retain clients, they only charge a reasonable flat fee for each qualified and retained client. This provides an incentive to get every potential client and put your personal injury law practice on autopilot. Started by Gary P. Flakowitz, Esq. Captorra is a partner in ICE, so ICE operators are trained on Captorra CRM software and use it, so you get some of the features at no charge. I know Gary because he was the attorney in charge of case intake at a personal injury and mass tort law firm with 150 employees owned by a friend of mine.
  • Intake Solutions of America
  • LawyerLine – offers inbound and outbound receptionists who can call your potential clients, existing clients, adversaries, vendors, etc., and schedule appointments.
  • Legal Conversion Center – This call intake center will answer calls for personal injury lawyers and get electronically signed retainers for callers meeting your qualifications.
  • Legal Intake Professionals – This call intake center for personal injury lawyers will answer calls with high or low call volumes. LIP will soon start offering retainer services.
  • Persist – converts stale leads into retained clients
  • Rapid Sign Now will send someone to get a retainer signed when you can’t get it signed electronically.
  • Tort Intake Professionals Legal Intake Services

Client Intake Consulting For Law Firms

  • Maximum Intake Consulting – develops and implements customized intake procedures and provides coaching/training for employees who answer the phone.

Read more articles about advertising for personal injury lawyers

Read about how advertising for personal injury lawyers with 1-800-HURT-911® will increase your case intake so much that you will have to start thinking about a personal injury call center and lead management for lawyers.

Philip L. Franckel, Esq., is the author of this article.

Phil Franckel is the owner of 1-800-HURT-911® and over 1,100 domain names. He is a personal injury lawyer and a former Member of the Board of Directors of the NYS Trial Lawyers Association. He is an expert in branding, advertising, marketing, and SEO. He has been doing SEO since 1994.

Phil Franckel has written and produced TV commercials for lawyers and other industries and has been a consultant to businesses, including several using vanity phone numbers. Phil writes a blog about lawyer advertising at LawyerAdvertisingBlog.com.

Phil Franckel began a mail order business in 8th grade, bought and sold coin-operated amusement games in 10th grade, and a used car business in 12th grade through college. After law school, he worked in the wholesale diamond business and part-time for a TV production company. Later, while a lawyer at a large personal injury law firm, he worked part-time for ABC Wide World of Sports and ABC Monday Night Baseball.

Phil Franckel then started a personal injury law practice and is a former member of the Board of Directors of the NYS Trial Lawyers Association.

In his spare time, Phil Franckel became an Aux. Police Cadet in 12th grade and is the Commanding Officer of the Communications Bureau, NCPD Aux. Police Section.


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About

Philip L. Franckel, Esq. is a member of the Personal Injury Dream Team™; He has a 10 Avvo rating; Avvo Client's Choice with all 5-star reviews; Avvo Top Contributor; and is a former Member of the Board of Directors of the New York State Trial Lawyers Association.